FORTÍSIMO - Closing concert


FORTÍSIMO - Closing concert

Max Bruch (1838 - 1920) Violin concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26

Felix Mendelssohn (1809 - 1847) Symphony No. 4 ‘The Italian’ in A major, op. 90 
Jesús Reina violin
Tomás Grau conductor
Franz Schubert Filharmonia

Musical gift from the artistic directors, Anna Nilsen and Jesús Reina

1.30 h (w/out intermission)

 Program (PDF es / en) 
 (Presentation, Málaga Clásica Talents, bios) 

The orchestra is on a grand scale the full extension of a chamber group. Being that the distance between the musicians makes it harder to hear and see each other, the conductor leads the group, that can consists of up to over 100 members, and guides the players through masterful hand and body language to portray one unified interpretation of the work presented.
Max Bruch´s 'Violin concerto', dedicated to and premiered by Joseph Joachim, showcases not only the violin, with its dazzling, virtuosic passages and singing lines, but also that of the grandeur and sheer power of the orchestra each time it breaks out in another wonderful tutti. The piece is specially loved for its heart-breaking melodies and energetic character. In Mendelssohn’s 'Symphony no.4', titled “The Italian”, we hear the composer’s evoked inspiration from a tour in Italy. With joyful freshness, the four movements represents impressions of the Mediterranean country, also in the form of folk music, the last movement being a fast neapolitan saltarello.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.